In baseball if the base runner beat throw to first base and runs through base turns left but goes in the direction of his doug-out is he out
Safe At First
Anonymous asked: Batter hits ball to right field. Thinking the ball is caught he runs through first base turns left, but goes in the direction of his dug-out and almost enters.
Is he out?
Rick answered: Thank you for your question.
Rule 8-2 Section 2 Touching, occupying and returning to a base Art 7...A batter-runner who reaches first base safely and then overruns or over slides may immediately return without liability of being put out provided he does not attempt or feint an advance to second.
A player who is awarded first base on a base on balls does not have this right.
Rule 8-4 Section 4 Runner Is Out Art 2...
p. After at least touching first base, leaves the baseline obviously abandoning his efforts to touch the next base or:
Note: Any runner, after reaching first base, who leaves the baseline heading for the dugout or his defensive position believing that there is no further play, shall be declared out if the umpire judges the act to be considered abandoning his efforts to run the bases.
Based on your description the umpire could call the player out.
Generally don't see this occur, as one of the first base coaches jobs is to keep that from happening.
Younger players sometimes get confused, and this can happen. Umpire has the discretion to call time, put the runner back to first and resume play. Coaches then have the opportunity for that ever valuable teaching moment with their team to explain the rule as written.
At levels above minors, umpires would more than likely call the runner out, as by that time players should be more aware of their surroundings.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.