The Ole Ball Game

In a run down, can the same player get the ball twice in a row?

Action rundown

Action rundown

Anonymous asked: If the runner is in a pickle can in 1st baseman throw it to the 2nd baseman twice, or do they have to switch out?



Rick answered: Thank you for your question.

There is no rule concerning how many times a player can receive a throw during a rundown, nor is there any rule that states a player cannot receive a ball two times in a row.

Within the structure of rundowns, defensive teams are looking to obtain their out within 2 throws or less.

The more throws, the more opportunity there is for a bad or dropped throw.

If you click on the above link, it will take you to a page where you can read about the various coaching philosophies concerning rundowns, and how they are accomplished.

It is an exciting, active play, requiring considerable practice time to become proficient at it.

When the defense has an offensive runner hung up between 2 bases, they need to get the out. Failure to do so can be demoralizing to a defense.

The extra practice time on rundowns provides players with the confidence that they are able to handle any and all rundown situations which can occur, taking full advantage of the offensive runner's mistake.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.