if two players are on the same base who do you tag first
by Cecil hale
When two runners occupy the same base, both are tagged, the following runner is out.
Cecil asked: If two players are on the same base who do you tag first?
Rick answered: Cecil, thank you for your question.
Rule 8-2 Art 8...If 2 runners are on the same base at the same time, and both are tagged, the following runner is declared out.
As a standard with your players, teach them to tag both and let the umpire sort it out.
With the game action going on, if they lose track and tag the lead runner; but not the trail runner, the trail runner can attempt to return from where he came, thus restarting or initiating a rundown situation which could possibly end up badly for the defense.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.