The Ole Ball Game

If the pitcher bounces a pitch that hits the batter is it still a free base

Pitch Hit Ground, Hits Batter, Batter Awarded First Base

Pitch Hit Ground, Hits Batter, Batter Awarded First Base

Anonymous asked: The pitcher threw a pitch that hit the ground in front of the plate and bounced into the batter.


Does the batter get the free pass ?

Rick answered: Thank you for your question.

Rule 5.05 When the batter becomes a runner:

(3) If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone, it is a "ball".

If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.