The Ole Ball Game

If an infielder throws there glove at the ball how many bases does the runner get.

by Stefen
(U.S.A)

Base Running Awards When Fielders Throw Equipment At Live Ball, Batted Or Thrown

Base Running Awards When Fielders Throw Equipment At Live Ball, Batted Or Thrown

Stefen asked: If a infielder throws their baseball glove at the baseball, how many bases does the runner get?



Rick answered: Stefen, thank you for your question.

Rule 7.00 Each runner, other than the batter, may without liability to be put out, advance 1 base when; (e)A fielder deliberately touches a pitched ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person. The ball is in play and the award is made from the position of the runner at the time the ball was touched.

7.05 - Each runner, including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance - (a)to home base, scoring a run, if a fair ball goes out of the playing field in flight and he touched all bases legally; or if a fair ball which, in the umpires judgement, would have gone out of the playing field in flight, is deflected by the act of a fielder in throwing his glove, cap or any article of apparel;

(b)Three bases, if a fielder deliberately touches a fair ball with his cap, mask, or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril.

(c)Three bases if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a fair ball. the ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril.

(d)Two bases id a fielder deliberately touches a thrown ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person. The ball is in play;

(e)Two bases if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a thrown ball. The ball is in play; Under (c-e) this penalty shall not be invoked against a fielder whose glove is carried off his hand by the force of a batted ball or thrown ball, or when his glove flies off his hand as he makes an obvious effort to make a legitimate catch.

The important thing to note is that the ball has to be touched by the glove or apparel thrown.

The act of throwing it will not, of itself, be cause for a penalty.

Yours in baseball,

Rick



Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.