The Ole Ball Game

If a switch hitter steps up to bat righthanded does he have the option to switch to left or must he complete his at bat right

by Charlie York
(Tumbler Ridge B C Canada)

Charlie asked: If a switch-hitter steps up to bat right-handed, does he have the option to switch to left or must he complete his at bat right?


Rick answered: Charlie, thank you for your question.

I have been unable to locate anything relating to this in either the MLB Rule Book, or the National Federation Rule Book.

I do not believe a batter is restricted to complete the at bat as started. Could change pitch to pitch if they want to.

Pitchers are required to indicate which hand they will be throwing with, normally accomplished by which hand they have their glove on.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.