The Ole Ball Game

if a shortstop catches a line drive, is the batter safe at first or is he out?

Line Drive

Line Drive

Line Drive Fly Ball Pop Fly

Anonymous asked: If a shortstop catches a line drive, is the batter safe at first or is he out?



Rick answered: Thank you for your question.

The position of the player makes no difference, as far as out or safe.

When any defensive player on the field catches a Line Drive, Fly Ball or Pop Up, the batter is out.

The only way it may not be an out is if the player did not control the baseball long enough to make it an out, which becomes a judgment call by an umpire.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.