The Ole Ball Game

if a reliever comes in the bottom of the 8th ahead 2 to 0 but his team scores 4 runs in the top of the nineth does the reliever get a save if he pitches 2 scoreless innings

by howard
(kentucky)

Howard asked: A reliever cones in the bottom of the 8th, leading,2 to 0.


He pitches 2 scoreless innings but; in the top of the nineth his team scores 4 runs to make the final score 6 to 0 .

Does he get a save for 2 scoreless innings?


Rick answered: Howard, thank you for your question.

The pitcher in that situation would get credit for the save.

The rule pertaining to saves is 9-6 Art 7...

To get a save, a pitcher shall meet all 3 of the following criteria:

1. he is the last pitcher in a game won by his team

2. he is not the winning pitcher

3. he meets at least one of the following:

a. he enters the game with a lead od not more than 3 runs and pitches at least one inning, or

b. he enters the game regardless of the count on the batter with the potential tying run either on base, at bat or on deck

c. he pitches effectively for at least 3 innings

d. a starting pitcher who is replaced and then re-enters as a pitcher can be credited with a win, but not a save

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.