The Ole Ball Game

if a pitcher leaves the game in the middle of an at bat with 2 balls on the batter, another pitcher comes in and throws to balls and walks him, who does walk go to?

Who Gets Credited With The Base On Balls?

Who Gets Credited With The Base On Balls?

Anonymous asked: If two pitchers throw to the same batter, in the same at bat and the batter walks, who does walk get credited to?



Rick answered: Thank you for your question.


Rule 10.16 (h) The procedure when more than one pitcher is involved in giving a base on balls.

A relief pitcher shall not be held accountable when the first batter to whom he pitches reaches first base on four called balls, if such batter has a decided advantage in the ball and strike count when pitchers are changed.

(1) If, when pitchers are changed, the count is:

2 balls, no strikes

2 balls, 1 strike

3 balls, no strikes

3 balls, 1 strike

3 balls, 2 strikes,

and the batter gets a base on balls, the official scorer shall charge that batter and the base on balls to the preceding pitcher, not to the relief pitcher.

(2) Any other action by such batter, such as reaching base on a hit, an error, a fielder's choice, a force out, or being touched by a pitched ball, shall cause such a batter to be charged to the relief pitcher.

(3) If, when pitchers are changed, the count is:

2 balls, 2 strikes

1 ball, 2 strikes

1 ball, 1 strike

1 ball, no strikes

no ball, 2 strikes

no ball, 1 strike,

the official scorer shall charge that batter and the actions of that batter to the relief pitcher.


All of it hinges on whether at the time of the pitching change, the batter has a decided advantage, based on the count.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Comments for if a pitcher leaves the game in the middle of an at bat with 2 balls on the batter, another pitcher comes in and throws to balls and walks him, who does walk go to?

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 16, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2 Balls on new pitcher entering game.
by: Johnny Dee

Great explanation on such a complex game with so many rules. I only wish Baseball will get their act together on a Sacrifice Fly. If a Runner tags up from any Base it should reward the Batter with a Sacrifice for hitting the ball to advance a Base runner not just from 3rd base.

Jun 28, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
3 balls then hit by pitch.
by: Anonymous

Rick,

With 3 balls on a batter if the next pitch hits the batter it's charged to the relief pitcher. But for all practical purposes, the pitch is a ball before it hits the batter. The scoring is not logical to me in that circumstance given the "decided advantage" construct. Unusual, but happened last night. It should be charged to the pitcher, not the reliever if you ask me. Who cares how he got to first base if it was ball 4 regardless of where the ball ended up after it went passed the batter as long as it didn't hit the bat?

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.