The Ole Ball Game

if a pitch hits your hands while holding the bat is it a walk or a strike

Hit by pitch

Hit by pitch

Anonymous asked: If a pitch hits your hands while holding the bat, is it a walk or a strike?


Rick answered: When a pitched ball hits any part of the batter's body, the call is a dead ball.

If the batter swings at the pitch, it is a dead ball and a strike, the at bat continues.

If he doesn't swing, it would be a dead ball, batter goes to first base.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Comments for if a pitch hits your hands while holding the bat is it a walk or a strike

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 25, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
It's a simple call
by: Coach Dan

I've seen umpires make this call correctly. It's a simple call; with two strikes, if the batter swings and ball hits him, it's a strikeout.

When a batter swings at a pitch and does not hit it with the bat, it's a strike -- that's straightforward. And, of course, when a live ball touches the batter, the ball is dead. So, he swings and misses with the bat on a 2-strike count, he's out. The ball touches him, it's immediately dead. Simple.

May 25, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
correct me if I'm wrong
by: Anonymous

so a batter has 2 strikes, he swings at next pitch and ball hits squarely on the hands making no contact with the bat. The ball roles into fair territory. So it a dead ball ,but would it be strike 3 or a foul ball , if you say it's a foul then it's like saying hand is a part of the bat, but then it would be a live fair ball, So I guess it's strike 3. Good luck to an umpire making that call

May 25, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
correct me if I'm wrong
by: Anonymous

so a batter has 2 strikes, he swings at next pitch and ball hits squarely on the hands making no contact with the bat. The ball roles into fair territory. So it a dead ball ,but would it be strike 3 or a foul ball , if you say it's a foul then it's like saying hand is a part of the bat, but then it would be a live fair ball, So I guess it's strike 3. Good luck to an umpire making that call

Jul 14, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Doesn't matter...
by: Coach Dan

As soon as the ball hits the batter (anywhere), it is immediately dead. It doesn't matter if it subsequently hits the bat. In the scenario you described, the batter is awarded first base unless the pitch was in the strike zone, in which case it is a strike.

Jul 14, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
follow up
by: Anonymous

what if the ball hits the batters hand first, then the bat, in the strike zone while the batter was attempting to pull back after starting to swing?

Jun 12, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Another exception...
by: Coachh Dan

If the batter makes no effort to avoid being hit by the pitch, the pitch is called as a strike or ball and the at-bat continues accordingly. By rule, the batter is not entitled to first base if s/he makes no effort to avoid being hit, though this is rarely enforced (it did happen in the NCAA super-regionals a couple of days ago though).

Jun 12, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Tough call for an umpire
by: Rick, theoleballgame

If the ball hit the knob of the bat before hitting batter's hands, it would be a foul ball strike.

In real time, it has to be fairly tough to call, especially if the batter has his pinkie wrapped around the edge of the knob.

Once called, it would stand, unless home plate umpire was willing to ask for help freom the base umpire, in which case he could possibly change his call.

Coaches can request he ask; but he does not have to do so.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Jun 05, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
bat then hand??
by: Tim K

what if the ump rules it hit the knob of the bat before stiking the batters hand?? He called a foul...

Sep 15, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good Addition
by: Rick

Coach Dan: Good addition to this question and answer!

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Sep 15, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A clarification
by: Coach Dan

If the batter does not swing in the scenario described here he is awarded first UNLESS the pitch is a called strike, in which case it is a strike (and a dead ball).

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.