The Ole Ball Game

If a pitch hits your bat behind you and you haven't swung, is it a strike?

Photo Bill Stanton:  Checkswing.com

Photo Bill Stanton: Checkswing.com

Mike asked: If a pitch hits your bat behind you and you haven't swung, is it a strike?



Rick answered: Mike, thank you for your question.

The rule covering your question is 7-2 Strikes, Balls, Hits Art 2...A foul ball or a fair hit(which may be a bunt) occurs when a pitch is touched by the bat of the batter who is in his box.

A batter does not have to swing for the pitch to be a strike, if the ball hits the bat while the batter is in the batter's box.

You see it quite often in youth baseball, where the hitter does not get the bat down and out of the way, and the pitch hits the bat.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.