If a pinch hitter who is pinch hit for return later in the game?
Photo Bill Stanton: Checkswing.com
Anonymous asked:Can a pinch hitter, who is pinch hit for, return later in the game?
Rick answered: Thank you for your question.
If you are asking about MLB rules, starters who have been pinch hit for, or pinch run for can not re-enter the game. They are through for the day.
A pinch hitter can pinch hit for a starting player, and then enter the game as his replacement. If he does not enter the game, another player off the bence replaces the starter.
At the high school level, and most youth league organizations, a player who is in the starting lineup can be substituted for once, and re-enter.
The rule is 3-1: Any of the starting players may be withdrawn and re-entered once, including a player who was the designated hitter, provided such player occupies the same batting position whenever he is in the lineup. A substitute who is withdrawn may not re-enter.
So, if I understand your question correctly, if you have a pinch hitter hit for a starter, then the pinch hitter enters the game, the starter can return at any point in time.
If the starter re-enters, the pinch hitter who had replaced him is done for the day.
If when you said, pinch hitter who is pinch hit for, you meant the designated hitter, then he is able to re-enter once because that position is a starting position.
Yours in baseball,