The Ole Ball Game

If a foul ball is caught next to 1st base and the first baseman catches the foul and then steps on 1st because the runner who was on first left early, is the runner out?

by JIm
(Merchantville, NJ)

Catching foul pop up

Catching foul pop up

Jim asked:

Rick answered: Jim, thank you for your question.

The answer is yes, the runner is out.

This situation is a live ball appeal. The defense may appeal during a live ball immediately following the play, before a pitch (legal or illegal), granting an intentional base on balls or before the next play or attempted play.

A live ball appeal may be made by a defensive player with the ball in his posession by tagging the runner or touching the base that was left too early.

Thanks again for your question.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.