If a batter takes off his helmet when he gets a homerun before he crosses the plate if you get a warning before you called out
Helmet off in MLB OK, in Amateur Baseball not OK.
Anonymous asked: I was called out because I took my helmet off before I reach home plate. When I hit homerun and I out before I get a warning to do. I get a warning and then the next time it happens and I called out.
Rick answered: Thank you for your question.
There is a warning given to the player and the coach, when a player deliberately removes his batting helmet while in live ball territory.
The umpire shall issue a warning to the coach of the involved team. A subsequent violation of the rule shall result in ejection.
It is possible there was a previous warning given to your coach and team, and then you took off your helmet and were ejected. That would explain why you never received a warning.
I don't know if it is the same in all states; but in Arizona High Schools the warning is issued to the coach, if the same player, or a different player later remove their helmet, that player and the coach are ejected.
In youth league levels, I am not familiar with what the ruling is. The rule was designed as a safety measure for players.
Often younger players get caught in between what they see happen on ESPN and MLB Network and the realities of amateur rules. Many rules are different from Professional Baseball to Amateur Baseball.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.