The Ole Ball Game

If a batter swings at a pitch and the pitch hits his hands and lands in fair territory what is the call? Fair or foul?

by Jody
(Dothan, Alabama, USA)

Jody asked:

If a batter swings at a pitch and the pitch hits his hands and lands in fair territory what is the call? Fair or foul?

Rick answered: Great question Jody. When the ball hits any part of the body, the call is a dead ball. If, as in this case, the batter swings at the pitch, it is a dead ball and a strike, the at bat continues.

If he hadn't swung, it would be a dead ball, batter goes to first base.

There are many myths in baseball, one that is quite prevalent is that the batter's hands are a part of the bat. They aren't.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Comments for If a batter swings at a pitch and the pitch hits his hands and lands in fair territory what is the call? Fair or foul?

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 22, 2013
HIT BY PITCH (KIND OF)
by: THE KID

WHAT SAYS THE RULE IF THE PITCH HITS BAT AND HANDS AND WINDS UP FAIR?

May 22, 2012
Always a dead ball?
by: Anonymous

It is always a dead ball? If the batter swings/offers and the ball hits his hand and goes into fair territory its a fair ball?


Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display




[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's

































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |Template Design

Powered By Site Build It!

Copyright© 2007-2014...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.