The Ole Ball Game

If a batter hits a ball that bounced up from in the dirt into the stands is it a homerun?

by Edward Hunter
(Woodstown, NJ USA)

Edward asked: A batter swings at a pitch in the dirt. The ball bounces up from the dirt and he golfs it into the stands.

Is the ball in play, and is it a home run?

Rick answered: Edward, thank you for your question.

The rule covering your situation is Rule 2-28 Art 4...A pitch ends when:

  • The pitched ball is secured by the catcher.

  • Comes to rest.

  • Goes out of play.

  • Becomes dead.

  • Or the batter hits the ball (other than a foul tip).

As long as the ball goes out of the park in fair territory, it is a home run.

I have never seen it happen, generally hard enough to hit pitches in the strike zone, let alone balls that are bouncing before they get there.

Yours in baseball,


Comments for If a batter hits a ball that bounced up from in the dirt into the stands is it a homerun?

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 04, 2015
The Impaler
by: Geoff

I know Vladimir Guerrero got a hit on a ball that bounced in front of the plate. Also can't remember if it was a homer or not but definitely in play.

Mar 11, 2014
Garry Templeton
by: Anonymous

I know Garry Templeton, while playing for the Padres, once hit a ball that bounce before the plate. I can't remember if he hit it for a homerun but I think it was.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.

Spalding, Old Time Bat Display

[?] Subscribe To This Site

follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines

Louisville Sluggers. 1920's

Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!

Copyright© All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© All Rights Reserved.