The Ole Ball Game

If a ball bounces off your shoe into your glove out?

by Monica
(Coral Springs)

Foul Tip, Or Foul Ball?

Foul Tip, Or Foul Ball?

Monica asked: If the batter hits the ball and it bounces off a catchers shoe and up into his glove, is the batter out?



Rick answered: Monica, thank you for your question.

If the pitch is not a third strike pitch, the batter would not be out, it would just be a foul ball.

If the pitch were to be a third strike pitch, it would then become a foul tip.

Rule 5:09 Making An Out: a)(6.05 Retiring the batter...A batter is out when: (2) A third strike is legally caught by the catcher.

Legally caught means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground. It is not legal if the ball lodges in his clothing or paraphernalia; or it touches the umpire and is caught by the catcher on the rebound.

As your question is worded, I would assume not a third strike, thus it would just be a foul ball.

If it were a third strike, since the ball went from the bat to the catcher's shoe and was caught by the catcher on the rebound in his glove, that would constitute strike three, batter is out.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.