I hit a line drive down third. The third baseman is in fair territory and it hits his mitt but the ball is in foul territory is it a hit
Anonymous asked: Third baseman is standing in fair territory.
The ball hits off the end of his mitt which happens to be in foul territory. Did I get a hit or is it foul?
Rick answered: Thank you for your question.
The rule covering what you have described is:
Rule 2-16 Foul, Foul Tip Art 1...A foul is a batted ball:
a) which settles on foul territory between home and first base or between home and third base, or
b) that bounds past first or third base on or over foul territory, or
c) that first falls on foul territory beyond first or third base, or
d) that, while on or above foul territory, touches the person of an umpire or a player or any object foriegn to the natural ground, or
e) that touches the ground after inadvetently being declared foul by an umpire.
Rule 2-5 Base Hit Art 1...A fair ball is a batted ball which:
a) settles on fair territory between home and third base or between home and first base, or
b) contacts fair ground on or beyond an imaginary line between first and third base, or
c) is on or over fair ground when bounding to the outfield past first or third base, or
d) first falls on fair ground when on or beyond first or third base, or
e) touches first, second or third base, or
f) while on or over fair territory, touches the person of an umpire or player, their clothing or equipment, or
g) while over fair ground passes over or inside first or third base in flight and curves to foul ground beyond such base, is not a fair hit; but a hit which goes over or through the fence is a fair hit if it is over fair ground when it leaves the field.
When you sort through all the wording, fair or foul is determined by the position of the baseball, not the position of the fielder.
Had the third baseman been in foul territory; but reached back into fair territory to field the ball, the ball is fair.
He was in fair territory, but the ball was foul, thus a foul ball, strike for the batter, no hit.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.