The Ole Ball Game

How many bases are awarded when SS cuts off throw from the outfield and then throws the ball out of play?

Anonymous asked: Runner on 1B.


Batter hits a single to the left center field gap.

R1 tries to go 1B to 3B.

The SS takes the cut off throw (while standing in the infield), throws wildly to 3B and the ball rolls into the players’ bench out of play.

R1 is awarded HB. But what about the batter-runner? He was already at 1B when the outfielder made the initial throw.

My first thought was: the ball was initially thrown from the outfield (to the SS) and then thrown out of play, therefore 2 bases from the time of the throw and batter-runner is awarded 3B.

But, since it was the SS who threw the ball and it was the first play, I ended up putting the batter-runner at 2B (2 bases from the time of the pitch).

Also, does it make any difference if the SS took the cut off throw while standing in the outfield grass and then makes the wild throw?


Rick answered: Thank you for your question.

Rule 7.05 Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance:

(g) Two bases when, with no spectators on the playing field, a thrown ball goes into the stands, or into a bench (whether or not the ball rebounds into the field), or over or under or through a field fence, or on a slanting part of the screen above the backstop, or remains in the meshes of a wire screen protecting spectators. The ball is dead.

When such a wild throw is the first play
by an infielder, the umpire, in awarding such bases, shall be governed by the position of the runner at the time the ball was pitched.


In all other cases, the umpire shall be governed by the position of the runners at the time the wild throw was made.

Batter-runner ends up at second. It doesn't matter where the shortstop took the throw from, the wording is "first play by an infielder." Won't matter where he physically was at the time.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Comments for How many bases are awarded when SS cuts off throw from the outfield and then throws the ball out of play?

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 19, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Exception to the rule
by: Bob P.

I agree Jay. For the situation I described, where all runners had advanced one base before the wild throw, the exception to the rule would apply and the B-R would be awarded 3B.

But what if the baserunner had started at 2B (instead of 1B) and was trying to move to 3B? The exception would not apply and we are back to trying to figure out if the throw from the SS was a "first play by an infielder". I don't think it is because the initia throw came from the outfield.


Jul 19, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Exception rule
by: Jay

If this site (http://baseball-rules.com/FAQs.htm#AOB) is correct, then would this scenario not fall under the "exception" criteria since all runners had advanced one base?

Love your site, by the way.

Jul 18, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Is it a "first play by an infielder"?
by: Bob P.

Thanks Rick. Great site you have.

I had an umpire tell me recently that the batter-runner gets 3B because the wild throw from the SS is not a "first play by an infielder" when the play is started with a throw from the outfield. I tried to find a definition of "first play by an infielder" in the rules but could find nothing.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.