The Ole Ball Game

How do you make and score this put out at second base

by Larry
(Colorado Springs, CO, USA)

Larry asked:With a runner on first the batter hits a fly ball to left centerfield.


The runner advances all the way to second base.

Thinking the ball would be caught he returns toward first base.

The ball is not caught and the fielder throws it to second base.

Because the runner was previously on second base, does this remain a force out or must the runner now be tagged?

Also is the play scored as a fielder's choice at that point?


Rick answered: Larry, thank you for your question.

Since the fly ball wasn't caught, the force still remains in effect, as the batter-runner has forced the base runner at first base to vacate.

The play would be scored as a fielder's choice.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.