How did Gregerson get the win last night in Astros/Kc game?
Randy asked: The Astros went ahead 6 to 5 in the bottom of the seventh.
The pitcher who finished the top of seventh received a blown save for giving up tying runs in the top half.
Two additional pitchers pitched in the eighth inning giving up no runs.
Gregerson came on in the ninth and retired Kc with no runs. How could Gregerson be the winning pitcher?
Rick answered: Randy, thank you for your question.
Generally speaking, the relief pitcher who gets the win is the one who was pitching while his team took the lead, which it didn't relinquish.
Astros took the lead in the bottom of the 7th, after the first reliever had lost the lead.
The two subsequent relievers threw the 8th, one throwing one third, the other two thirds, both credited with a hold.
Gregerson threw a complete 9th, to the minimum 3 batters and was credited with the win. There is a clause written that says, if in question, the win goes to the reliever deemed to be the most effective. No hard and fast rules to determine this.
My assumption would be the official scorer awarded him the win due too more batters faced.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.