Hey Rick: my question- can a player be called out if hit by ball?
Richard asked: Bases loaded 1 run game, 9th inning count 3-2.
Batter blattenly leans into ball gets hit.
Can the ump call him out or does he always get a base?
Rick answered: Richard, thank you for your question.
In the situation you described, yes, the umpire can call the batter out.
Since the count is 3-2, if the pitch was going to be called a strike, the umpire can ignore the batter being hit, and call him out on strike three.
If the pitch would have been called a ball, the umpire could ignore him being hit, and call it ball 4. Batter would get on in either case.
Rule 7 Section 3- A batter Shall Not:
Art 4...Permit a pitched ball to touch him.
Penalty: The batter remains at bat(pitch is a ball or strike)unless pitch was a third strike, or ball four.
In the Rule book, Rule 8 Section 1 -When A Batter Becomes A Runner, Art 1...A Batter becomes a runner with the right to attempt to score by advancing to first, second, third and home bases in the order listed when:
d) a pitched ball hits his person or clothing, provided he does not strike at the ball, or
1) He makes no effort to avoid being hit as in 7-3-4 above, or if the umpire calls the pitched ball a strike, the hitting of the batter is disregarded except that the ball is dead. It is a strike or ball, depending on the location of the pitch.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.