The Ole Ball Game

Free base or not

by Mark
(Huntingdon, Tn. USA)

One Base On The Overthrow, One Base For Going Into The Dugout

One Base On The Overthrow, One Base For Going Into The Dugout

Mark asked: Runner on 1st with less than 2 outs.


Batter hits fly ball to shallow center field.

Runner on 1st assumes it's going to be a hit but the outfielder catches the ball. The runner almost to 2nd, attempts to return to 1st, and the fielder throws the ball to 1st for an easy double play.

The ball goes over the first base-mans head into the dugout.

Does the runner get 2nd base or 1st, since he didn't beat the ball to 1st?


Rick answered: Mark, thank you for your question.

Rule 5.06 - Running The Bases, Advancing Bases

Rule 5.06 (b) (4) G : Two bases when, with no spectators on the field, a thrown ball goes into the stands, or into a bench (whether or not the ball rebounds into the field), or over or under or through a field fence, or on a slanting part of the screen above the backstop, or remains in the meshes of a wire screen protecting spectators.

The ball is dead.


So, what you have is the overthrow got the runner one base, but the subsequent factor of the ball going into the dugout provided an extra base.

Runner is now at third base, with two outs.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Comments for Free base or not

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 22, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Out on appeal?
by: Rick, theoleballgame

Additional thought.

If he was required to return, did not, then the ball went out of play, then dead, the umpires at that point would have moved the runner to third base during a dead ball. He wouldn't advance on his own.

If the umpires had it wrong, they would have to make it right, dismissing the appeal and putting the runner back at first.

This one can get pretty confusing.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Jul 22, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Retag or no
by: Rick, theoleballgame.com

Since the ball was caught, the requirement to legally advance, is to tag up.

If the runner did tag, he receives one base on the overthrow, and one base for the ball going into the dugout.

The ultimate question then may be, once the ball goes into the dugout and becomes dead, is the requirement still there to tag to advance.

He is already on his way back, the ball becomes dead, possibly nullifies the need to tag.

Never ran across one like that, have not seen anything that might shed some light on it.

My thought is, once the ball is dead, there is no real need for the runner to tag to advance. The defense basically created 2 free bases with that overthrow.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Jul 10, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Tagging Up
by: Anonymous

The further discussion should be does the baserunner have to retag 1st base (tagup) before being awarded the 2 bases on the over throw. Since the ball was legally caught he normally would have to return to first before he could advance. If he is required to return and does not then he could be put out on a properly executed appeal? Yes or no?

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.