force play at second, with runner on first
by John Martin
(Orland Park, Il)
Force At Second
John asked: In a force play at second base, a ground ball is shoveled from the shortstop to the second baseman.
The second baseman picks up the ball in his bare hand, then touches second base with his glove before the runner from first base reaches second , but the ball is still in his right hand.
Is the runner still forced out?
Rick answered: John, thank you for your question.
A tag is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.
It is not a tag, however, if simultaneously or immediately following his touching a base or touching a runner, the fielder drops the ball.
In establishing the validity of the tag, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough to prove that he has complete control of the ball.
If the fielder has made a tag and drops the ball while in the act of making a throw following the tag, the tag shall be adjudged to have been made.
As long as the fielder maintains control of the ball in his bare hand, tagging the base with your hand inside your glove, is considered part of your body, thus a force.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.