The Ole Ball Game

force play at first

Joe asked: If a first baseman fields a ground ball and has the ball in his right but dives to tag the bag with his left, is the runner out?


Rick answered: The runner is out. The force is still intact, all that is required of the fielder is to have control of the baseball. With control, he can touch the base with any part of his body.

If the force is erased, then the tag must be made with the ball, either in his bare hand, or in his glove.

It is all about whether the force is still intact.

There is some additional information on another similar post in this section, as well as some added information in the comments section of that same post.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.