The Ole Ball Game

Error or hit?

by Mark
(Downingtown, PA)

Photo Bill Stanton:  Checkswing.com

Photo Bill Stanton: Checkswing.com

Mark asked: Hard hit ball to center field.


The CF breaks in a step but the ball goes over his head (he does not touch it). Hit or error?

In general, are misjudged balls errors?

Rick answered: Mark, thank you for your question.

It comes down to a judgement call by the official scorer as to whether they feel the ball should have been caught or not.

In the situation you described, they would look at whether or not that initial step in prevented the fielder from ultimately getting to the ball or not.

There is no clarification in the rule book pertaining to errors, other than to say it is a misplay by a fielder or team. Leaves the scorers flying by the seat of their pants sometimes.

It is by no means a perfect science; mostly a judgement based on experience.

As a rule, misjudged balls are generally considered errors.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.