The Ole Ball Game

Drop 3rd strike with bases loaded can the batter advance

Anonymous asked: Can a batter advance on a droped 3rd strike with the bases loaded?


Rick answered: Thank you for your question.

A batter may advance on a dropped third strike with the bases loaded, if there are two outs.

Coaches teach their catchers to pick up the dropped ball, and step on home plate in this situation, which is a force out of the runner from third. No throw required, eliminates the chance of an over throw at first base.

With less than two outs, the batter may only advance if there is no runner on first base.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.