The Ole Ball Game

Double play

by Alan
(Levittown pa)

Alan asked: 1st and 3rd, 1 out ,fly out to cf,runner on 1st doesn't tag,3rd does. 3rd crosses plate before 1st gets thrown out.


Does run count?


Rick answered: Alan, thank you for your question.

With the situation you have described, the fly ball caught in center field would be out number two.

The runner at 3B has legally tagged and heads for home plate on the catch by the center fielder.

The runner from first base is caught between bases with no tag made.

The ball remains live after the catch and susequent throw to first base.

The runner from third base scores, since he crosses the plate before the third out of the inning is recorded at first base.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.