The Ole Ball Game

Does this run count?

Edward asked: Runner on third, two outs.


A squeeze bunt and runner on third scores well before the batter is thrown out at first.

Does the run count?

Thanks.


Rick answered: Edward, thank you for your question.

For the run to count in the situation you describe, the batter must reach first base safely.

Time of the runner getting there is of no consequence. The ball is live at the time of pitch, becomes dead with the putout at first.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.