The Ole Ball Game

Does the runner from third score when double play is recorded for runner on first leaving early?

by Mark C
(Lincoln, CA)

Run Does Not Count

Run Does Not Count

Mark asked: There is a runner on first and third with one out.


The ball is hit to center field and both runners tag. The runner at first left early and was called out when the center fielder threw to first base.

Even though the third base runner crossed home plate before the first base runner was called out for leaving early, does the run count?


Rick answered: Mark, thank you for your question.

Rule 5.08 How A Team Scores

a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.

Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3)by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.

The play described is one continuous play, which generated a inning ending double play, where the runner from first was forced out on the center fielders throw to first base.

Out number three, inning over, no run scored.

Guessing this one created a lot of discussion at the time.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.