The Ole Ball Game

does the run count

by ben
(Peebles ohio)

Ben asked: We have runners on 1st and 3rd, one out.


Ball is hit in the air to second baseman.

Runner on 3rd tags and scores at home.

Runner on 1st advances to 2nd but didn't tag up.

Before the next pitch is thrown, pitcher throws ball to 1st, umpire calls him out for not tagging up.

Ends the inning.

So does the run count or not?


Rick answered: Ben, thank you for your question.

Rule 7.10 Appeal Plays...Any runner shall be called out on appeal when...

(1) After a fly ball is caught, he fails to retouch his original base before he or his original base is tagged.

The run should have scored. The runner from third tagged and went on the catch.

The defense then appeals the runner who is now on second, umpire calls him out.

Run had already crossed the plate legally.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.