The Ole Ball Game

Does the batter still get credit for a base hit if the ball hits a baserunner resulting in the third out?

by Ron Malehorn
(Manchester,Pa.)

Ron asked: Does the batter still get credit for a base hit if the ball hits a base-runner resulting in the third out?



Rick answered: Ron, thank you for your question.

Rule 10.05 A base hit is a statistic credited to a batter when such batter reaches base safely, as set forth in this rule 10.05

(5) A fair ball that has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or umpire, unless a runner is called out for having been touched by an infield fly, in which case the official scorer shall not score a hit.

There is no mention of the number of outs being a factor.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.