The Ole Ball Game

does the batter get credited with a base hit when catcher interference is called?

Catcher's Interference

Catcher's Interference

Anonymous asked: Does the batter get credited with a base hit when catcher interference is called?



Rick answered: Thank you for your question.

Catcher's Interference: Rule 6.01...Interference is an act by a fielder that hinders or prevents a batter from hitting a pitch.

(c) Catcher's Interference: (6.08) The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided he advances to and touches first base) when the catcher or any fielder interferes with him.

If a play follows the interference, the manager of the offense may advise the plate umpire that he elects to decline the interference penalty and accept the play.

Such election shall be made immediately at the end of the play. However, if the batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batsman, or otherwise, and all runners advance at least one base, the play proceeds without reference to the interference.

Batter does not get credited with a base hit when catcher's interference is called; but he does not get charged with a time at bat.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.