The Ole Ball Game

Does run score?

Batter-runner Out At First Base For Third Out, Run Does Not Score.

Batter-runner Out At First Base For Third Out, Run Does Not Score.

Anonymous asked: Bases loaded, two out, tie score ,bottom of ninth.


Slow roller hit down third.

Third baseman tosses ball to home plate and runner is safe.

Catcher then throws to first base and ball gets there before the runner does.

Does the run score to end game or does the out at first count to end inning in a tie?


Rick answered: Thank you for your question.

Rule 9 Scoring - Record Keeping

Section 1 How a Team Scores Art 1...A runner scores one run each time he legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home plate before there are three outs to end the inning.

Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home plate during action in which the third out is made as follows:

(a) by the batter-runner before he touches first base.


Inning over, going extras.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.