The Ole Ball Game

Does run count?

by Bob
(Florida)

Second Base Force For Third Out, Runner From Third Does Not Score.

Second Base Force For Third Out, Runner From Third Does Not Score.

Bob asked: Bases loaded , two out, batter hits ground ball to third base.


Third basemen lets ball go through his legs, runner on third runs home and crosses the plate.

Shortstop backing up third base fields ball and throws to second base forcing out a very slow runner from first base.

Does the runner, who crossed plate before force out, count?


Rick answered: Bob, thank you for your question.

Rule 5:08 How a Team Scores

a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are out to end the inning.

Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made 1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base (2) by any runner being forced out or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.

Since the runner from first was forced at second, even though the runner from third crossed the plate prior to, this is what is called a continuation of the play, or sometimes a timing play, thus the run does not score.


Yours in baseball,

Rick





Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.