The Ole Ball Game

Does run count

by Dixie
(North carolina)

Dixie asked: Runners on second and third with one out.


Both runners off bag when short stop catches next batters line drive.

Runner on third goes back and tags up and runs home while short stop over throws ball to second.

Runner on second tries to go back but throw from outfield beats him back.

Runner on third crosses home plate before they get runner out at second. Does run count?


Rick answered: Dixie, thank you for your question.

Rule 5.08 How a Team Scores

(a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.

Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made:

1. by the batter-runner before he touches first base

2. by any runner being forced out, or

3. by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.

While the runner from third would have legally tagged and scored, when the runner on second failed to tag and was subsequently forced out at second for the third out, the ruling becomes number 2 in the exceptions above.

This action was one continuous play.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.