The Ole Ball Game

Did I pitch?

by Justin
(ABQ,NM,USA)

Pick at first

Pick at first

Justin asked: Today my coach put me in to pitch with runners on first and third.


The runner on third is the winning run for the other team.

I decided to try and pick off the guy at first but threw the ball away resulting in the winning run to score. However, this happened before I threw my first pitch of the game.

So did I pitch?

Rick answered: Justin, thank you for your question.

Once your coach decided to make a move, he would have called time out, come out and indicated to the umpire that he wanted to make a pitching change.

During that time out, I assume you took your warm up tosses. At the completion of those 8 pitches, the plate umpire would have restarted play, creating a live ball situation. If no announcement was made, the ball immediately becomes live when you step on the pitching plate.

Technically, you did pitch; but will receive only one pitching stat, a fielding error on the throw.

The run scored would be charged to the pitcher who allowed that runner to get on.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.