Anonymous asked: Following a previous warning can a head coach be ejected for player on his team found wearing a damaged batting helmet?
Rick answered: Thank you for your question.
The rule which covers your question is 4-1-3b
Art 3b...Penalty: On the first violation of 4-1-3b for entering the box with an illegal bat, the penalty for an illegal bat is applied (7-1-4a) and the head coach shall be restricted to the bench/dugout for the remainder of game. On the second violation for entering the box with an illegal bat, the penalty for an illegal bat is applied and the head coach shall be ejected. On subsequent violations for entering the box with an illegal bat, the penalty for an illegal bat is applied and the designated head coach shall be ejected.
On detected violations od 4-1-3b for the use of a damaged helmet, the helmet shall be immediately removed from play.
I find nothing in the Federation Rules about ejecting the coach for a player wearing a damaged helmet, just the removal of the helmet.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.