Call on Fake Catch (line drive) and throw with runners on base.
by Coach Joe Ward
(The Villages, FL)
Coach Joe Ward asked: Runners at first and second base.
There's a line drive over the shortstops head, but the shortstop jumps up (24 inches vertical) and pretends to catch the ball and fakes a throw to the second baseman who came over to cover second in case that happened.
The umpire, after the play stopped, awarded both runners an extra base (runner at first went to third, runner going to third went home).
Is this legal? Both runners awarded an extra base. Runner from first to third; runner from second to home. Is this correct?
Rick answered: Joe, thank you for your question.
Federation Rule Art 2-22 Obstruction and Fake Tag... Obstruction is the act (intentional or unintentional, as well as physical or verbal) by a fielder, any member of the defensive team or it's team personnel that hinders a runner or changes the pattern of play. When obstruction occurs, the ball becomes dead at the end of playing action and the umpire has the authority to determine which base or bases shall be awarded the runners, according to the rule violated.
Hopefully, the link above will take you to an additional page on the site, in which there is information.
Been having some problems being able to proof read my answers before posting. The link may or may not appear.
I would assume that if this rule is in effect at the High School level, it is also the case at all levels below.
If a defensive player has the ball in their control, they can make a fake throw to a base, come around and throw to another base to attempt to back pick another runner.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.