The Ole Ball Game

Batter interference

by Richard Wilson
(Houston, Texas)

Penalty For Batter Interference

Penalty For Batter Interference

Richard asked: Runner on first no outs.


Runner goes to steal second and batter interferes with catchers throw. Who is out?

Same situation but 2 outs. Who is out?


Rick answered: Richard, thank you for your question.

If the umpire declares the batter out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was, in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference.

With no outs, or one out, the batter is out, the runner(s) return to the base they started from.

With two outs, the batter is out, the inning is over.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.