The Ole Ball Game

Bases loaded, 2-2 count, pop foul ball, pitcher and catcher collide trying to catch, should an error be charged on that play when batter gets a hit on next pitch?

by Ric Cook
(Winston Salem, NC, YSA)

Ric asked: Bases loaded, 2-2 count, pop foul ball, pitcher and catcher collide trying to catch.


Should an error be charged on that play when batter gets a hit on next pitch?


Rick answered: Ric, thank you for your question.

Rule 9.12 Errors

An error is a statistic charged against a fielder whose action has assisted the team on offense, as set forth in this rule, 9.12

a) The official scorer shall charge an error against any fielder:

(1) Whose misplay (fumble, muff or wild throw) prolongs the time at bat of a batter......

The error should be charged to the player most responsible for the collision, if that is determinable.

The error comes as a result of the defense extending that players time at bat, resulting in a base hit.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.