The Ole Ball Game

bases loaded 2 out. ground ball to short, he bobbles it but recovers and gets the force at 2nd base for the 3rd out. does the run count

by Butch
(tonganoxie ks)

Short throw, two out force

Short throw, two out force

Butch asked: Bases loaded 2 out. Is this called a continuation play due to the bobble? Does the run count?


Rick answered: Butch, thank you for your question!

The rule covering your question is Rule 9 - Scoring - Record Keeping

Section 1 - How a Team Scores

Art 1...A runner scores one run each time he legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home plate before there are three outs to end the inning.

Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home plate during action in which the third out is made as follows:

b) by another runner being forced out

With the bases loaded, all runners, including the batter/runner would need to be safe at the next base, for the runner from third to score.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.