The Ole Ball Game

Bases are loaded and you are hit by a pitch. Do you get a RBI and does it count as an at bat?

Anonymous asked: Does this count as a recorded at bat and you get a RBI when you are hit by a pitch with the bases loaded?



Rick answered: Thank you for your question.

The rule pertaining to your question is 9-3-5...Run batted in is credited to the batter when a runner scores because of a base hit, including the batter-runners score on a home run, a sacrifice; any put out, a forced advance, such as a base on balls or a batter being hit; or an error provided there are not two outs and that action is such that the runner on third would have scored even if there had been no error.

Batter is not charged with a time at bat when he makes a sacrifice hit, is hit by a pitch, is awarded a base on balls, is replaced before being charged with 2 strikes and the substitute does not strike out, or when he advances to first base because of obstruction by a fielder.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.