Ball in the dirt, blocked by the catcher and the runner advances
Stolen base or out, depending on the call at the base.
Kevin asked: I am going to call uncle with my reading of the mlb rules.
I am curious how this would be scored? I don't think it would scored a steal, since the base runner read the ball in the dirt and attempts to advance.
The catcher has successfully blocked and controlled the ball and then attempts a play on the advancing runner.
How would that be scored if the runner is put out versus being safe?
Rick answered: Kevin, thank you for your question.
The runner would be credited with a stolen base. There was no error, passed ball, or wild pitch.
Essentially the same scenario as a delayed steal, where the runner takes an extra secondary lead shuffle, running on the catcher's return throw to the pitcher, or the infielder's lack of attention to cover the base.
The base runner's ability to read the pitch in the dirt is the same as his ability to get a good jump on a easily caught pitch in the strike zone.
If he is safe, stolen base. If he is out, 2- whichever infielder is covering the bag and makes the tag.
Yours in baseball,