The Ole Ball Game

Balk and runner on first stealing second before pitch is delivered.

by erik
(new hampshire)

Erik asked: I had an ump call a balk on my pitcher for not stepping off the pitchers plate, while the first base runner was running to second.


I told the ump that since the runner is running it has now turned into a "play" and there is no longer a pick off to be made and that the runner can no longer be decieved by illegal pitch movements.

Does the pitcher have to step off the mound to make a throw to second base once the base runner commits to stealing?

thanks
erik


Rick answered: Erik, thank you for your question.

Rule 6-2 Section 2 Infractions by Pitcher (NFHS rulebook)

Art 4...Balk. If there is a runner or runners, any of the following acts by a pitcher while he is touching the pitcher's plate is a balk:

d. failing to pitch to the batter in a continuous motion immediately after any movement of any part of the body such as he habitually uses in his delivery

Without seeing the action in real time, hard to say for sure.

The portion above about movement of any part of the body, such as he habitually uses in his delivery... that would include starting to pick up his front foot to throw a pitch, which happens with every pitch.

Once the pitcher steps on the rubber, he is restricted in his movements.

Any movement by a base runner, prior to his delivery of the pitch, should automatically cause him to step back, thus turning himself into an infielder. Even if he doesn't see it, someone on his team should be yelling "step off".

He can then move in any way needed.

If he starts to pick up his front foot, and the runner breaks on that movement, the pitcher is locked into going to the plate as that is part of his normal delivery. If he stops that movement, turns and throws to second base, it would be a balk. The start of his motion to the plate created the play, it is then a pitch to the plate and the catcher's throw in an attempt to get the runner at second.

In a first and third situation, we at times start our runner at first base while the pitcher is starting his set. While true, the possibility of deceiving the runner with an illegal pitch movement is erased, the pitcher is still bound to the fact that he is attached to the rubber.

He can only free himself from that attachment by following through with the pitch, or stepping back and becoming an infielder.

Yours in baseball,

Rick



Comments for Balk and runner on first stealing second before pitch is delivered.

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jun 28, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Not compatible
by: Rick, theoleballgame.com

Zetta: Thank you for your appreciation of my site.

I did look at your site, don't believe we share the same audience. This is a youth baseball site for younger kids.

The answer for sharing a page would be no.

Thank you.

Rick

May 19, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Origin of the balk rule
by: Jim

This question reminded me of something -- When did the balk rule come into existence (and why)?
Personally, I think that if a base runner is trying to 'sneakingly' steal a base, then the pitcher has the equal right to 'sneakingly' try to throw him out regardless of the pitcher's stance, phase of delivery, or position on the mound.
A base runner gets a lead-off; what does the pitcher get?

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.