a run scored ?
Batter runner out at first base for third out, run does not score.
Man on third, 2 outs.
Line drive to right field one bounce to right fielder.
Runner on third crosses plate.
Right fielder throws out batter at first.
Does the run count?
Rick answered: John, thank you for your question.
Rule 5.08 How A run Scores
(a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made:
1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base.
Run doesn't score as this play is continuous.
Had the batter-runner touched first before the ball arrived, attempted to go to second; but was tagged out, the run would count.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.