The Ole Ball Game

3. R1 on first base/less than 2 outs. Batter hits short fly to LF. R1 goes part way to 2nd to see if ball is caught. Batter rounds 1st base and passes R1. What is the call? Is the play stopped?

Batter-runner will be caled out immediately, ball remains live unless that was the third out.

Batter-runner will be caled out immediately, ball remains live unless that was the third out.

Anonymous asked: Runner 1 on first base/less than 2 outs.


Batter hits short fly to Left Field.

Runner 1 goes part way to 2nd to see if ball is caught. Batter rounds 1st base and passes Runner 1.

What is the call?

Is the play stopped?


Rick answered: Thank you for your question.

The rule covering this situation is 7:08...Any runner is out when;

h) He passes a preceding runner before such runner is out;

The batter-runner is called out immediately, ball remains live to completion unless the batter-runner was the third out, so the defense still has an opportunity to make a play on the runner from first and the runner from first still has an opportunity to advance on an errant throw.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.