The Ole Ball Game

2 outs with runner at 3rd. Batter gets hit, runner advances to home but hitter is out at 1st. Does run count?

by TA Cogdell
(Texas)

Out At First, Run Does Not Score

Out At First, Run Does Not Score

T.A. asked: Two outs, with a runner at 3B.


Batter hits the ball, runner advances to home; but the batter is out at first.

Does run score when hitter is out at first?


Rick answered: T.A, thank you for your question.

Rule 5.08 How a Team Scores (a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base, before 3 men are put out to end the inning.

Exception: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.

In your scenario, the run does not count, since the batter-runner did not reach first base safely.


Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.