The Ole Ball Game

tag ups

by rich seggi
(erie pa usa)

Photo Bill Stanton:  Checkswing.com

Photo Bill Stanton: Checkswing.com

Rich asked: Runners@ 3rd and 2nd, one out, batter hits a fly out to center.


Runner on third tag is legal, but runner on 2nd left to soon.

Runner on 3rd scores before the appeal at 2nd. Does the run count?

Rick answered: Rich, thank you for your question.

The rule covering the situation you describe is Rule 8-2 Art 6h:
Tagups: If a runner leaves a base too soon on a caught fly ball and returns in an attempt to retag, this is considered a time play and not a force out.

If the appeal is the third out, all runs scored by runners in advance of the appealed runner and scored ahead of the legal appeal would count.

Runner from third scores, runner on second is the third out, on appeal.

Yours in baseball,

Rick

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.








Spalding, Old Time Bat Display



[?] Subscribe To This Site

XML RSS
follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines


Louisville Sluggers. 1920's































Return to top | Homepage | Contact Rick | About Us | Site Dedications | Site Origin | Resource | Privacy Policy |

Powered By Site Build It!
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.
Copyright© 2007-2017...theoleballgame.com. All Rights Reserved.