Should an umpire reverse a call after the game has ended? Field ump was overruled by plate ump.
Anonymous asked: Two runners on, two outs, bottom of nine.
Ground ball to second baseman, thrown up the line and the first baseman stretched for it, field ump calls an out.
Teams are lining up to shake hands and the call is reversed.
Rick answered: Thank you for your question.
The rule covering your question is Rule 10 Umpiring Art 4...Any umpire's decision which involves judgement, such as whether a hit is fair or foul, whether a pitch is a strike or ball, or whether a runner is safe or out, id final. But, if there is reasonable doubt about some decision being in conflict with the rules, the coach or captain may ask that the correct ruling be made.
The umpire making the decision may ask another umpire for information before making a final decision. No umpire shall criticize or interfere with another umpire's decision unless asked by the one making it.
The only way the out call could have been correctly reversed, is if the base umpire asked the home plate umpire for help.
The home plate umpire could not interject his opinion, unless asked.
Had the offensive team requested the home plate umpire to intervene, he could not. He could only offer his call, or no call, if asked by the base umpire.
Yours in baseball,
Click here to post comments
Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ask The Baseball Coach.